Dear Friends,

We are hard at work planning and organising Carifta 2011. It is a great pleasure to extend an invitation to you to come to Barbados for the celebration of the 26th edition of this competition with the swimming segment scheduled to commence from April 23-26 and Water polo & synchronised swimming April 29-May 1st.

Please note that the meet has been sanctioned by FINA as a qualifier for the 14th FINA World Swimming Championships scheduled to be held in Shanghai, China in 2011. We invite our FINA accredited officials to participate as well as all other developing officials to use this occasion to sharpen your officiating skills as we look forward to having a cadre of professionals from the Caribbean in charge of the meet.

We have attached the summons for all three disciplines inclusive. We urge you to return the preliminary entry forms at the earliest opportunity as it will assist us with our accommodation and transportations plans. Please note that the deadline date is JANUARY 28TH, 2011.

As customary a souvenir magazine of the event will be published. We invite you to submit articles to be printed in the magazine. Carifta is approaching its 26th year and as we prepare to celebrate this milestone we invite you to share with us your views on how you think that Carifta should continue to evolve with the emphasis on its relevance to the Caribbean aquatics development.

Also note that we have provided an opportunity for coaches to meet and share their views and experiences on Sunday, April 24th, 2010 and we invite a lively discussion on how we aim to make the Caribbean a formidable presence in world aquatics.

The summons will be posted here on the website of the Barbados Amateur Swimming Association: where we will be posting all pertinent information concerning the competition over the coming months. So stay connected – Click here to see the events page.

The Following National Federations comprise the Carifta family to whom the summons have been circulated: We look forward to a positive response on your participation.

  1. Antigua & Barbuda: Mr Bruce Williamson
  2. Aruba: Mr Ronald Van de Berg/Ms Nicole Hoevertsz
  3. Bahamas: Bahamas Swimming Federation/Mr Algernon Cargill
  4. Barbados: Barbados Amateur Swimming Association/ Mr Gopwani
  5. Bermuda: Bermuda Amateur Swimming Association/ Mr Tim Petty
  6. Cayman Islands: Cayman Islands Amateur Swimming Association/Mr Dominic Ross
  7. Dominica
  8. French Guiana
  9. Grenada/Mrs Jane Douglas
  10. Guadeloupe/Mr Didier Icheck
  11. Guyana/Mrs Karen Williams
  12. Jamaica/Mr John Eyre
  13. Martinique/Mr Robert Marajo
  14. Netherlands Antilles/Mrs Bakhuis/Mr Hensley Herenvreen
  15. St Lucia/Mrs Joyce Huxley
  16. St Kitts & Nevis
  17. St Vincent & the Grenadines/Mr Andre Cadogan
  18. Suriname/Mr Rick Scuitermaker/Mr Guno Vanderjagt
  19. Trinidad & Tobago/Mr Gary Morales
  20. Turks & Caicos Islands/Mrs Lisa Wright
  21. The British Virgin Islands/Ms Tracy Bradshaw/Ms Verne Wheatley
  22. The US Virgin Islands/Mr Brent Mays

Best regards
Sonia O’Neal
President, Barbados Swimming